Discovering Your Star Sign's Ruling Planet

Find out the ruling planet for your star sign!

When it comes to astrology, most people know what their Sun signs are and how that might define their personality. However, there’s another less-known celestial factor that plays a significant role in shaping who we are: our ruling planet. Some believe that these celestial bodies influence our traits, behaviour and the path we walk in life. We’ll be exploring the intriguing world of zodiac ruling planets to answer your questions and shed light on how they may impact your astrological identity.

What are ruling planets? How are ruling planets determined?

Ruling planets are celestial bodies associated with each zodiac sign, seen to have qualities that reflect the traits of the twelve astrological star signs. Astrologers believe that your ruling planet plays an important role in defining your personality, values and journey through life. The ruling planets are assigned to each star sign by considering the planet’s historical and mythological associations and comparing the distinct attributes of each star sign.

Aries Ruling Planet (March 21 – April 19): Mars

Aries is under the guardianship of Mars, the planet of action and courage. The red planet’s fiery influence ignites the passion and drive of Aries individuals, making them natural-born warriors in life. Mars is named after the Roman god of war and guardian of the Roman people, explaining the natural leadership qualities of Ariens, with the planet also governing sports, competitions and physical activities.

Taurus Ruling Planet (April 20 – May 20): Venus

Venus is the planet of love and luxury and guides Taurus individuals. Its influence endows Taureans with sensuality, appreciation for beauty and a knack for attracting love and wealth. Venus is named after the Roman goddess of love, beauty and fertility, inspiring Taureans to have kind and likeable souls. The planet is also associated with harmony, the desire for comfort and the want to sympathise with others.

Gemini Ruling Planet (May 21 – June 20): Mercury

Mercury is the planet of communication and intellect. Named after the Roman god of financial gain, communication and luck, this ruling planet empowers Geminis with a sharp mind and an insatiable thirst for knowledge. There’s no doubt that Geminis will go on to lead lives full of success with their curious and intelligent traits! The planet also governs messages and the relationship between neighbours, siblings and cousins, explaining the social nature of Geminis.

Cancer Ruling Planet (June 21 – July 22): The Moon

Cancer individuals are ruled by the Moon, which is why some Cancerians prefer to refer to themselves as “moon children”. The Moon amplifies their emotional sensitivity and intuition, making Cancerians natural nurturers, particularly as it’s associated with memories, childhood and maternal instincts. The Moon is seen as a tranquil and calm celestial body, stabilising the orbit of Earth with its gravity and ensuring the hypnotic ebb and flow of the ocean’s tides.

Leo Ruling Planet (July 23 – August 22): The Sun

The Sun is the guiding star for Leos, and there couldn’t be a better fit! The Sun bestows them with confidence, creativity and a magnetic presence that draws others to them. The radiant personality of Leos reflects the star and illustrates their desire to shine brightly and lead the way, matching their charismatic personality and determination. The sun is normally seen as the ‘life force’ of the planet, so it’s unsurprising that Leos have strong egos and a sense of self – their own life forces.

Virgo Ruling Planet (August 23 – September 22): Mercury

Virgo shares Mercury as its ruling planet, granting Virgos exceptional analytical skills and attention to detail. This makes a lot of sense, seeing as the Roman god Mercury is the god of commerce and eloquence. The planet represents the principles of mentality, rationality and curiosity, with the planet medically associated with the brain. These are reflected in the logical, hard-working and observant traits of Virgo.

Libra Ruling Planet (September 23 – October 22): Venus

Venus rules the sign of Libra and inspired Librans’ love for harmony and beauty. People born under this sign have a natural talent for mediation and diplomacy, which aligns with the planets association with having solidarity and unity with others. Librans are known for being sociable and romantic, which reflects Venus being the goddess of love, however the planet governs all types of relationships – romantic, platonic and business.

Scorpio Ruling Planet (October 23 – November 21): Pluto

Scorpio is ruled by Pluto, named after the Greek ruler of the underworld (also known as Hades). But in astrology, death represents transformations, with Pluto known as “the great renewer”. Change isn’t easy so this aligns well with Scorpio’s traits of dedication and bravery, much like that of a phoenix. Pluto governs activities such as surgery and detective work; jobs that involve delving under the surface to bring truth to light are perfect for Scorpios, aligning with their disciplined, intelligent and intuitive personalities.

Sagittarius Ruling Planet (November 22 – December 21): Jupiter

People born under the Sagittarius star sign are known for striving to be the best version of themselves that they can be, with traits of self-assurance, ambition and optimism. Perhaps this is influenced by their ruling planet of Jupiter, named after the Roman king of the gods (equivalent to the Greek god Zeus). The largest planet in our solar system is associated with growth, travel, big dreams and exploration, fuelling Sagittarian tendencies of being adventurous and open-minded.

Capricorn Ruling Planet (December 22 – January 19): Saturn

Capricorns often find themselves achieving success in life, assisted by their typical traits of perseverance, drive and self-control. Saturn being their ruling planet is a perfect match as the planet is named after the Roman god of time and wealth and has links to achievements, productiveness and life lessons. As well as being ambitious individuals, Capricorns are also loyal and helpful, so maybe Saturn’s association with karma brings success to those born under the sign as long as they do good for the world.

Aquarius Ruling Planet (January 20 – February 18): Uranus

The zodiac element of Aquarius is air, with Aquarians being dreamy, creative and intelligent. This is an ideal reflection of their ruling planet, Uranus, named after the Greek personification of the sky. Aquarians are known for thinking outside of the box, with this uniqueness seen in Uranus being the only planet to spin vertically rather than horizontally. Uranus is associated with discoveries, new ideas and revolutions, linking with the Aquarian traits of independence and innovation.

Pisces Ruling Planet (February 19 – March 20): Neptune

Pisces has lots of connections with its zodiac element of water – its name means ‘fishes’, its symbol is of two fish and the ruling planet for the sign is Neptune, named after the Roman god of the sea! The calming blue colour of the planet associates it with dreams, empathy and the journey to discover the truth of the universe. These match many qualities of Pisceans, as they are often imaginative, kind, wise and spiritual.

Name A Star and Embrace the Cosmos

Your ruling planet can help shape your personality and life’s journey in ways you might not expect. As you unravel the mysteries of your astrological identity, consider immortalising your connection to your zodiac sign by naming a star in its associated constellation. Whether it's to celebrate a special date or simply to bring you closer to your ruling planet, naming a star is a unique and meaningful gift. Take a look at our star naming packages to discover how you can leave your mark in the night sky.